Garden Produce, Kittens, & A New Season.

Despite having been done with my summer job for a few weeks now I haven’t been able to find a lot of extra time to mess around with editing pictures and writing pretty blog posts! But that is changing now. I still sketch and paint on a daily…no make that weekly…oh wait, maybe monthly basis. Hmmm. Well you get the picture.

Some of the culprits behind my slacking in the creativity department have included taking in a rescued mother cat with 5 little rambunctious kittens. So I spend a lot of time staring in awe and letting my heart just melt to pieces at sights like this:

20140904_133828

And then there is the changing of the seasons and harvest suddenly having arrived. I have been cutting, blanching, freezing, and dehydrating tasty garden delights like a mad woman for the past two weeks.

But I have carved out some time to do artsy things. I discovered an original painting on canvas board that I pulled out of a heap of mass produced “Bless Our Home” wall hangings at the local consignment shop. I am thrilled to have it hanging on my wall! I love original works by other artists but can’t really afford to buy a lot. This winter scene is so peaceful:

20140824_160504

I have also hurriedly scratched out a few sketches (cheesy lettering included):

20140727_153825

20140817_141833

20140817_163645

And believe it or not, I have even completed another acrylic painting! On canvas. Not a few smears in one of my sketchbooks. Imagine that! Here’s a sneak peek for proof:

20140826_120310

Ok, that’s not really “proof” but there is a brush, dipped in paint. Paint that has been smeared and mixed! Tune in tomorrow to see how this paint was applied to canvas to create what sort of painting…

Leave a Reply

